Review: Cake Celebrate! It’s a Slice Duo

A wide bottle of shower froth and a slim bottle of hand lotion side-by-side.This was a tester item from EdenFantasys, a US-based sex toy shop who were kind enough to send it to me in exchange for my honest review. In light of their horrible business policies, this review does not link to them any more.

Rating: ★★★★☆ 4/5

“When I was offered these for review, I was quite pleased. I liked the design of the bottles and the idea of an orange and vanilla scent was quite appealing. I’d never had a product by Cake Beauty before, so I was looking forward to trying something new.

PresentationIngredientsTexture, Smell and TasteFeelingOverall

PRESENTATION

The box these items arrived in is really cute and flirty, with pinks, yellows, whites and oranges that give an innocent feeling. They are also the usual colours of cakes, which is probably why they were chosen. The box is themed like a birthday party and even says “celebrate” on it so it seems ideal as a birthday gift, though could probably be used for another occasion such as Christmas.

Front of the box - click to view larger size!

The writing on the back of the box is in both English and French because Cake Beauty is a Canadian company. One side has a cake on it.

Inside the box, the items are kept separated by a square of cardboard to prevent them from bashing into each other or making a mess. I thought this was a nice touch since it meant that there wasn’t any plastic packaging and the box could be easily recycled.

Inside of the box - click to view larger size!

The same goes for the hand creme and bath froth: both items have a set of instructions/ingredients in both French and English, so you don’t need to keep the box at all. The design for the hand creme and bottle also happen to match other things in the Cake range, which is nice if you like things to look similar like I do.

Front and back of the bath froth and hand lotion - click to view larger size!

The lids of these are as you would expect: the creme opens like a flap and the froth requires you to push down on the side for it to open.

Lids of the bath froth and hand lotion - click to view larger size!

INGREDIENTS

To find out about each ingredient, please click on its name to be taken to a description of what it is.

Hand creme: Water/Eau, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Althaea Officinalis (Marshmallow) Extract, Milk Lipid, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid, Parfum (Fragrance), Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, CI 15985 (Yellow 6), CI 16035 (Red 40)

Shower froth: Water (Aqua), Sodium laureth sulfate, Cocamidopropyl betaine, Glycerin, PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, Laureth-7, Cocamide MEA, Glycol distearate, Parfum (Fragrance), Vitamin E (Tocopheryl acetate), Cocos nucifera (Coconut Oil), Phenoxyethanol (and) Caprylyl Glycol (and) Sorbic Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Benzophenone-4, Citric Acid, CI 15985 (Yellow 6), CI 16035 (Red 40)

As you can see, people sensitive to glycerin should steer clear of this set.

TEXTURE, SMELL AND TASTE

Hand creme texture: The hand creme is very silky to the touch and squeezes out in a long curl as you would expect it to. It actually goes quite a long way so you don’t need too much. I squeezed out more than I intended to and it took a short while to rub it effectively into my hands. It was also quite easy to squeeze it out of the tube.

Shower froth texture: The shower froth is much like other shower gels in that it is quite runny and comes out of the bottle with very little hassle. It also felt silky to the touch but reminded me more of baby oil than a showering gel. The bottle comes with an extra seal under the lid to prevent accidental leaking. As with the hand creme, you don’t need to use a lot for it to be effective.

Textures of both items - click to view larger size!

The scent of both of these items is quite strong. It is “sweet orange and vanilla cream” wherein the vanilla is the stronger smell. You will notice the vanilla first but then be met with the sweet orange almost as though it is an afterthought. I personally found the smell a bit overpowering on the hand creme because I could constantly smell it as I spend a lot of time with my hands up near my face. If you don’t or you enjoy strong scents then this won’t be a problem. The scent of the hand creme actually lingered for about 10 hours or so before I stopped noticing it.

Regarding taste… I didn’t taste these items. Mainly because they aren’t designed for that but also because I was too busy smelling them to consider it! It also seemed like a waste to put any in my mouth since that isn’t the items’ intended purpose.

FEELING

After using these items, my skin was noticeably softer.

When I shower I like to use a shower puff to exfoliate my skin and the cake shower froth left my skin feeling clean and soft afterwards. It was a wonderful feeling and put me in a good mood for the rest of the day.

If I’m honest, I don’t use hand creme at all. I’ve never really felt the need to as my hands are usually soft enough on their own unless I’ve been doing dishes. However, after my shower I decided to use the hand creme as well and my hands were very smooth and silky to the touch. I kept finding excuses to rub my arms or legs because the smoothness felt very good! My hands still felt softer the next day, too!

OVERALL

Though the smell of these is almost too strong for me, I like them quite a bit. They really make my body feel clean and soft and they smell very good to boot! The box design of them is fantastic too and I think it would make a perfect gift for someone who likes the smell of orange or vanilla.

People sensitive to glycerin should avoid this product as both the shower froth and hand creme have it in. The reason this gets a 4/5 instead of a 5/5 is that they haven’t taken this into account.

While I got this as a set, Cake Beauty unfortunately do not sell this as a set on their website so you will have to buy them separately and without the cute box. I still think getting both is a good idea, unless you are like me and don’t use hand lotions much!”

You can buy the Cake Celebrate! it’s a slice duo separately from Cake Beauty here:
It’s a Slice Velveteen Hand Creme and It’s a Slice Bath & Shower Froth.

Tags: , , , , ,

About SubReiSkyeM

Owner of Thoughts of a Growing Sub. I've been blogging for a year now and still loving it! Check my blog for reviews, blogger memes and BDSM talk!

Leave a Reply

