Review: ÜberKinky Bondage Tape

Two rolls of tape side by side, one red and one black.I was sent this tape by the lovely people at ÜberKinky when I asked them if I could have the honour of testing something from their range. It’s taken me quite a while to do this review, due to a wedding and various forms of sickness but here it finally is!

Rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5

“To be completely honest, Daddy and I have only ever used bondage tape a few times in the past and generally were not impressed with what we got. We always found it a bit awkward and annoying to bother with and thus have decided to do bondage in other ways instead. When I was offered this tape, I thought that perhaps it was time to give it another go since the last time was about two years ago and from a different manufacturer. I hoped that we would like this tape more, now that we were more experienced.

PresentationUseReuseOverall

PRESENTATION

I was pretty pleased with the way this tape arrived to me. The parcel I received was very discreet and well-packed, with a lot of bubble wrap to protect the things inside. When I unwrapped it fully, I was surprised by how lovely the tape looked. The colours chosen are gorgeous because they are vivid and exciting, just like the colours of the ÜberKinky logo.

The packaging the tape comes in is concise and just as pictured. There is no wasted material, though the sticker is quite large and other things can get stuck inside it through the back. This was quite amusing though, since I kept losing things like batteries in it that fell onto my lap at random intervals and made me squeak.

On the website, ÜberKinky list the tape as being 20 yards (roughly 18 metres) long and 2 inches thick.

USE

This ÜberKinky Bondage Tape is designed for binding wrists, ankles and the like together to prevent your partner (or you!) from escaping. A lot of people will use it for this, but Daddy and I thought we’d use it for something a little different. We’re not really into that type of bondage, you see. The Bondage Tape is made from PVC, which as you may already know is used in fetish clothing so we decided to play about and make some of our own.

The type of bondage I prefer is shibari, which usually restricts my chest and ribs, so the first thing we made was a type of longline bra. In order to make it, we used all 20 feet of the black tape supplied and then used a fair amount of the red tape to cover over it. We would have used less but it was not effective at all unless it was wrapped around a few times, which was a bit annoying. I think we actually spent more time re-securing and reapplying the tape than on the initial designing and application process. The result was disappointing since it didn’t look great and had constantly bunched into itself during application. It had also refused to stay in place a lot of the time, no matter where we put it. Arguably, this was due to the fact that we didn’t cut it off into proper strips and just wrapped it as much as possible, but even on small pieces it stuck to itself annoyingly. Where it bunched was very painful and cut into the skin relentlessly.

On the plus side, the tape cuts easily with scissors or teeth and Daddy actually liked how it felt when he groped me though we were less than impressed with how it looked.

The second thing I ‘made’ was an ÜberKinky bandana like Ryu of Street Fighter fame. I stuck the large sticker on the front and kept making sad faces at Daddy until he wore it. After which, I proceeded to call him ÜberKinkyman and laugh loudly for ages until he told me off for being a brat. We managed to take this off and put it on each other a few times, but since it was ridiculously simple I suppose that doesn’t mean much.

We did also end up using it for bondage purposes. I tied some around Daddy’s wrists and instructed him to fight his way out since he is very strong and I wanted to see how useful it would be. As expected, he broke out easily and looked boredly at me before applying a similar amount to my wrists for me to try. To my surprise, even I managed to escape it which made me confused. If it can’t hold me, surely it can’t really bind anyone? I got him to redo it with a lot more tape because I wanted to be sure whether it was us or the tape and found the tape worked then.

I did, however, find a lot of the same problems with this as when we made clothing; if there was not a lot it was ineffective and it bunched in on itself easily which just really hurt. It hurt me more than restrained me, and instead of just fighting my way out with my arms I ended up using my teeth because I couldn’t take it any longer. It was just very uncomfortable.

ÜberKinky Bondage Tape.

REUSE

Trying to untangle it and put it back on the roll was so annoying we just threw away the bits we’d used. I had tried to flatten it out and use it again but it was too stressful for me and I lost my temper, so it ended up being one use. We did tie on the silly headband a few times without a problem though. It was also easy to do because the fact that it bunched on itself was useful for this purpose. If you have the time and patience to unscramble it, then it will definitely last a lot longer for you.

As for what we have left over from the testing we did, there’s less than half of the red roll. I don’t know what we will use it for now, since we personally don’t like tape but there’s a high chance I’ll pass it along to someone who will. I genuinely think it could be a solid product for people who have the patience to use it properly.

OVERALL

Bearing in mind that bondage tape isn’t our thing, we didn’t like this tape much. The experience was similar to the first one we had used and quite frankly this sort of thing just isn’t for us. I think it’s as good as any other bondage tape out there, though I suppose that doesn’t help if you’re trying to choose between brands.

If you already enjoy bondage tape in your own play then you might enjoy this, since the colours are fantastic and it clearly sticks to itself very well. I’d say the deciding factor is whether you have the patience to smooth it back onto the roll when you’re done.”

You can buy the ÜberKinky Bondage Tape in red or black from ÜberKinky by clicking the image in the comments.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About SubReiSkyeM

Owner of Thoughts of a Growing Sub. I've been blogging for a year now and still loving it! Check my blog for reviews, blogger memes and BDSM talk!

2 responses to “Review: ÜberKinky Bondage Tape”

  1. subrei says :

    You can buy some of this bondage tape here: ÜberKinky: it's not a fetish, it's a way of life!

Leave a Reply

